That’s what I call art: Kraftwerk to perform
at MoMA

The Museum of Modern Art presents its first time-based artist retrospective with Kraftwerk–Retrospective 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8, performed live on eight consecutive evenings from April 10 through 17, by Kraftwerk, the avant-garde electronic music pioneers.  

Each evening will consist of a live performance, in the Museum’s Donald B. and Catherine C. Marron Atrium, of works from one of the group’s eight albums, created over four decades, followed by a selection of original compositions from their catalogue adapted specifically for this exhibition’s format to showcase both Kraftwerk’s historical contributions and contemporary influences on sound and image culture.

Kraftwerk–Retrospective 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 is organized by Klaus Biesenbach, Chief Curator at Large at MoMA and Director of MoMA PS1, with the assistance of Eliza Ryan, Curatorial Assistant, MoMA PS1.

The elaborate staging of the performances will combine sound and 3D images to present more than 40 years of musical and technological innovation, with new improvisations and 3D projections.  The albums will be performed in chronological order:  Autobahn (1974), Radio-Activity (1975), Trans Europe Express (1977), The Man-Machine (1978), Computer World (1981), Techno Pop (1986), The Mix (1991), and Tour de France (2003).

Tickets are $25.00 and will go on sale to the public on Wednesday, February 22, at 12:00 p.m., only at  Space is limited.  There is a two-ticket limit per person for the series, with each individual order limited to one transaction.  Tickets will be distributed exclusively via will call, with photo ID required.

Performance Schedule as follows:

  • April 10, 8:30PM – Autobahn (1974)
  • April 11, 8:30PM – Radio-Activity (1975)
  • April 12, 8:30PM – Trans Europe Express (1977)
  • April 13, 10:00PM – The Man-Machine (1978)
  • April 14, 8:30PM – Computer World (1981)
  • April 15, 8:30PM – Techno Pop (1986)
  • April 16, 8:30PM – The Mix (1991)
  • April 17, 10:00PM – Tour de France (2003)

As part of Kraftwerk–Retrospective 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8, a presentation of Kraftwerk’s historical audio and visual material will be on view in the new MoMA PS1 Performance Dome at MoMA PS1, from April 10-May 14, 2012.

Previously published at Stupefaction.

This entry was posted in TVD New York City. Bookmark the permalink. Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.

  • Alternative Text Alternative Text Alternative Text Alternative Text
  • Alternative Text Alternative Text Alternative Text