Nightlands release sophomore album Oak Island today

Philadelphia native Dave Hartley, aka Nightlands, celebrates his second release on Secretly Canadian today and plans to take it on the road across America. 

Back in late November we touched briefly on Nightlands and their new album when we highlighted their special, one-time-only performance of the complete original score to 2001: A Space Odyssey. Since then it’s been one big, snowballing promotion for Dave and company as they inched closer and closer to the album’s release date. Today marks the day Oak Island is finally available to the public.

The album, clocking in just shy of 35 minutes, takes the listener through a genre-blending trip to a warm, hazy land. Mixing elements ranging from classic rock to bedroom pop, folk, and sci-fi evokes a certain nostalgic feel thanks in huge part to the unmistakable laying of vocals.

At almost any given point, it sounds as if the microphone was in the center of a choir of Dave Hartleys. The pairing of these beautifully harmonized vocals with drum beats that go back and forth between a lazy laid back afternoon day and the busy decent into night life give Oak Island a sense of late 1970s summer touched with golden sunlight.

This Saturday, Nightlands pay a visit to Philadelphia’s Kung Fu Necktie for a hometown record release show. Two other area shows in Arden, DE with School of Seven Bells and Brooklyn, NY with Retribution Gospel Choir follow. In March, Nightlands will hit the road on a US tour with Efterklang supporting.

NIGHTLANDS TOUR DATES:
Sat. Jan. 26 – Philadelphia, PA @ Kung Fu Necktie [RECORD RELEASE SHOW]
Sat. Feb. 2 – Arden, DE @ Arden Gild Hall w/ School of Seven Bells
Tue. Feb. 12 – Brooklyn, NY @ Knitting Factory w/ Retribution Gospel Choir
Fri. March 1 – Raleigh, NC @ Kings Barcade *
Sat. March 2 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl *
Sun. March 3 – Nashville TN @ The End *
Tue. March 5 – Dallas, TX @ Dan’s Silverleaf *
Wed. March 6 – Austin, TX @ The Mohawk *
Sat. March 9 – Los Angeles, CA @ Echoplex *
Mon. March 11 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall *
Wed. March 13 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge *
Thu. March 14 – Vancouver, BC @ The Biltmore *
Fri. March 15 – Seattle, WA @ Neumo’s *
Mon. March 18 – Minneapolis, MN @ The Cedar Cultural Center *
Tue. March 19 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall *
Thu. March 21 – Toronto, ON @ Mod Club [Canadian Music Week] *
Fri. March 22 – Montreal, QC @ Il Motore *
Sat. March 23 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom *
* with Efterklang

This entry was posted in TVD Philadelphia. Bookmark the permalink. Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.
0 comments
Sort: Newest | Oldest
  • SUPPORTING YOUR LOCAL INDIE SHOPS SINCE 2007


  • Alternative Text Alternative Text