TVD Radar: Raspberries’ reunion concert Pop Art Live in stores 8/18

VIA PRESS RELEASE | On November 26, 2004, the stage was set for a reunion most thought could never happen—the Raspberries live in concert! More than 30 years after the original four members of Raspberries last played together, the Omnivore Recordings 2-CD/ Digital set Pop Art Live, due out August 18, 2017, captures opening night at Cleveland’s House of Blues. Listeners will experience the power and magic that led the group to a successful reunion tour in 2005.

Founding members Eric Carmen, Wally Bryson, David Smalley, and Jim Bonfanti powerfully muscle through 28 songs— the hits, deep tracks and even some cool covers—reviving the legacy of power pop’s founding fathers. Longtime Raspberries associate Tommy Allen mixed the recording. Pop Art Live contains live versions of songs from all four of the band’s classic original studio albums, including the hits “Go All the Way,” “I Wanna Be With You,” “Let’s Pretend,” and “Overnight Sensation [Hit Record]” as well as perfect renditions of timeless favorites by the Beatles and the Who.

Also included in this 2-CD package are reflections and testimonials from Academy Award®-winning filmmaker and rock scribe Cameron Crowe, pop music author James Rosen, and longtime Raspberries aficionados Bernie Hogya and Ken Sharp. Hogya also contributes a wealth of ephemera from opening night in Cleveland.

From Crowe’s notes: “It was the early ’70s, and the editor of the local underground newspaper where I worked was confused and fascinated by the Raspberries’ debut album. I watched as a room full of post-hippie political journalists passed around the album cover, solemnly smelling the scratch ’n’ sniff cover. I’d talked my way into the job despite of, or maybe because of, my age (15), and the editor trusted me to fill some space reviewing records.

I took the record home, and gave it a spin. ‘Go All the Way’ opened the album, and the Raspberries’ career, with a sonic knock to the jaw. Within three chords, I knew I had to blast it. The run of songs continued, each one building on the giddy promise of the last, from “Come Around and See Me” to the rapturous ‘I Saw the Light’ and beyond . . . it was one of the strongest introductions to a record I’d heard. The assurance, the kick in the band’s attack, and the pop majesty of Eric Carmen’s vocals made me a life-long fan.”

Raspberries are one of rock’s most treasured bands, influencing everyone from John Lennon to Bruce Springsteen to Paul Westerberg. Pop Art Live is an essential document of that band, providing another chapter to their lasting impact.

A special Edition 3-LP set will be available later in the year.

Track Listing:

1. I Wanna Be With You
2. Play On
3. I Can’t Explain
4. Nobody Knows
5. Let’s Pretend
6. Don’t Wanna Say Goodbye
7. Party’s Over
8. Overnight Sensation [Hit Record]
9. Might As Well
10. It Seemed So Easy
11. Baby’s In Black
12. If You Change 
Your Mind
13. Tonight
14. I Can Remember 

1. Starting Over
2. Last Dance
3. I Saw The Light
4. No Reply
5. When You Were With Me
6. It’s Cold Outside
7. Should I Wait
8. Come Around And See Me
9. Makin’ It Easy
10. Ticket To Ride
11. Hard To Get Over A Heartbreak
12. Ecstacy
13. I’m A Rocker
14. Go All The Way

This entry was posted in The TVD Storefront. Bookmark the permalink. Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.